The market
New Zealand data centres, operator by operator
Every named data centre in New Zealand, by operator, capacity and build stage.
10
operators tracked
131MW
operating, on disclosed capacities
280MW
under construction
383MW
proposed
| Operator | Facility | Location | Capacity | Status | Owner |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating | |||||
| CDC | Hobsonville Campus Two | Hobsonville, Auckland | 54MWOperator-disclosed | Infratil 49.69% | |
| TenPeaks | 11 sites (aggregate) | Auckland and other | 23MWAggregate IT load across 11 sites | Pacific Equity Partners 75% | |
| CDC | Hobsonville Campus One | Hobsonville, Auckland | 22MWOperator-disclosed | Infratil 49.69% | |
| CDC | Silverdale Campus One | Silverdale, Auckland | 22MWOperator-disclosed | Infratil 49.69% | |
| DCI Data Centers | AKL02 | Albany, Auckland | 10MWFirst stage; 5MW fitted out, 40MW ultimate design | DCI Data Centers | |
| Datacom | Orbit | North Shore, Auckland | Not disclosedNot disclosed | Evander Management 54.92% | |
| Datacom | Highbrook | East Tāmaki, Auckland | Not disclosedNot disclosed | Evander Management 54.92% | |
| Datacom | Kapua | Te Rapa, Hamilton | Not disclosedNot disclosed | Evander Management 54.92% | |
| Datacom | Abel | Wellington | Not disclosedNot disclosed | Evander Management 54.92% | |
| Datacom | Gloucester | Christchurch | Not disclosedNot disclosed | Evander Management 54.92% | |
| DCI Data Centers | AKL01 | Westgate, Auckland | Not disclosedNot disclosed | DCI Data Centers | |
| Microsoft | New Zealand North (Azure region) | Auckland | Not disclosedNot disclosed | Microsoft Corporation | |
| AWS | Asia Pacific (New Zealand) | Auckland | Not disclosedNot disclosed | Amazon Web Services | |
| Data Vault | Grafton | Grafton, Auckland | Not disclosedNot disclosed | Privately held, New Zealand-owned | |
| Data Vault | Te Rapa | Te Rapa, Hamilton | Not disclosedNot disclosed | Privately held, New Zealand-owned | |
| Data Vault | Lambton Quay | Lambton Quay, Wellington | Not disclosedNot disclosed | Privately held, New Zealand-owned | |
| Chorus | EdgeCentre Auckland | Auckland | Not disclosedNot disclosed | Chorus Limited | |
| Chorus | EdgeCentre Tauranga | Tauranga, Bay of Plenty | Not disclosedNot disclosed | Chorus Limited | |
| Chorus | EdgeCentre Wellington | Wellington | Not disclosedNot disclosed | Chorus Limited | |
| Chorus | EdgeCentre Christchurch | Christchurch | Not disclosedNot disclosed | Chorus Limited | |
| Under construction | |||||
| Datagrid | Makarewa campus | Invercargill, Southland | 280MWPhase one design capacity | Under construction | DG Founders |
| Proposed | |||||
| CDC | Stratford | Stratford, Taranaki | 250MWProposed project scale | Proposed | CDC (Infratil 49.69%) and Contact Energy |
| TenPeaks | Development pipeline (three Auckland campuses) | Auckland | 130MWDisclosed pipeline | Proposed | Pacific Equity Partners 75% |
| Data Vault | North Shore | North Shore, Auckland | 3MWPlanned, operator states 3MW (Reseller News) | Proposed | Privately held, New Zealand-owned |
| On hold | |||||
| NEXTDC | AK1 | Auckland | 15MWPlanned, operator states 15+MW | On hold | NEXTDC Limited |
Operators can update their own entry
Eight entries below carry no capacity figure because the operator has not published one. Send us a correction or an addition and we will publish it.
Capacity is labelled by stage and never totalled across stages. Operating figures are installed colocation capacity. Project figures are planned capacity, a different quantity: Makarewa's 280MW is Datagrid's phase one design capacity, and Stratford's 250MW is Contact's estimate of IT load. Datagrid's full Makarewa build is projected at 1,000MW.
- 1Datagrid Makarewa: company statements, RNZ and Reseller News, construction commenced 18 August 2026.
- 2CDC Auckland capacities and ownership: CDC and Infratil disclosures, 30 June 2026.
- 3CDC Stratford: Contact Energy and CDC statements and UBS, 12 August 2026.
- 4Datacom facilities: Datacom company site.
- 5DCI AKL01: DCI Data Centers company site.
- 6NEXTDC AK1: NEXTDC company site.
- 7TenPeaks: Spark disclosures.
- 8Microsoft and AWS: region announcements. Cloud regions publish no capacity.